The Little Housewife That Could

Before I get on with this post, let me first acknowledge that my use of the word ‘little’ in the title above is extremely laughable because there is NOTHING little about me right now. 7 months pregnant or not, I feel (and most definitely look) like a beached whale. My belly seriously grows at the astonishing rate of about 20 inches per day. And every morning I look at it like, SERIOUSLY? My sweet little belly button which used to curve inwards ever so delicately is now just a flat, black rounded spot in the middle of my massive midsection. But I’m grateful for this belly because it has been mercifully shielding my ankles from view. All this time, I thought my ankles were doing fine until my beloved husband felt the need to point out to me a few nights ago that they are looking mighty swollen. So, with some difficulty, I lift my legs so I can see said ankles and yup, I officially have CANKLES people. Just great. Thanks boo. This is exactly the type of information I need to hear right now. AND THEN my boobs are just another story on their own. They need their own zip code. They have ballooned to obscene proportions and continue to do so with no end in sight. Let’s just say that if a boat I was on capsized, everyone could climb aboard my massive frame and I would make for a great life raft, complete with two outstanding floatation devices. 

Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, on to the post…

It’s been a full two weeks since my lifestyle change and I can honestly say that I’m a much more productive (and happy) human being. I’m not a domestic goddess yet by any means but I’m not at the same level of crappiness that I once was. This is progress, people! The thing is, I’ve discovered that with housekeeping (as with most other things in life) moderation is key to success. Less is more, if you will. There is absolutely no reason to clean your house all day –nobody’s house needs to be that clean. An hour of cleaning on Monday, spot cleaning throughout the week and then a touch up on Friday and you’re good to go! With laundry, I’m probably the last person on planet earth to discover that waiting until you have a 6-foot-high heap of dirty clothes is not a great idea. As I belatedly learned, laundry becomes much less depressing when you have a small, manageable load. Who would have thunk?!Progress, I tell you! I’m still waiting for my craft supplies to fill up my afternoons but like that famous Little Engine That Could, I think I CAN do this housewife thing!

All this got me thinking that it’s funny how you can pray and hope for one thing (a job in my case) but get something totally different (housewifery), and STILL be happy (after a little attitude adjustment). So, maybe, the answer you get isn’t just plain “No” but instead it’s “No, BUT what I do give you will be more awesome if you could only just see it that way.”
Follow greencalabash on Twitter

11 Comments

  1. misswretched said,

    August 23, 2010 at 9:13 am

    LOL at “cankles” and “floatation devices”….you are one BRAVE housewife!! I am borrowing some attitude adjustment tips from you!

  2. serwaa said,

    August 23, 2010 at 9:16 am

    hey, i lke ur piece, lovely story and interesting reading. keep it up!

  3. mrsmwiti said,

    August 23, 2010 at 10:39 am

    lol. I know that feeling

  4. Dutta said,

    August 23, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    LOL They probably needed your breasteses/jugz, on the titanic…. Cankles!…..a few symptoms that are normal with pregancy. This journey is taking it course just before you pop the little one out.
    So any weird cravings?

    🙂

    BTW Where are you registered?

    • August 23, 2010 at 10:33 pm

      Seriously, I could have saved the whole ship. No cravings, just constant hunger hence the ballooning figure :-).

  5. August 24, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    […] This post was Twitted by greencalabash […]

  6. wambui said,

    August 26, 2010 at 5:35 am

    This is a very positive and motivating post. Glad to hear that you are adjusting, adapting and learning to love your life. Its a great lesson for all. Cheers.

    • August 27, 2010 at 6:32 pm

      I’m glad that you found it motivating Wambui! It’s a lesson I have to keep on reminding myself everyday…

  7. September 20, 2010 at 8:22 am

    […] alarming news caused me to blackout for a few minutes. I have already told you guys about my current state. And now they are saying that this problem is about to get (for lack of a better word) bigger? At […]


