What’s for dinner?

Dinner. Ugh. Usually by the time 6 p.m. rolls around I’ve worked myself into a serious depression over the question of what I’m going to make for dinner. You see, I have a love-hate relationship with cooking. I can go for a few months where my cooking is exciting and inspired and filled with love and generally awesome. Other days (like every day for the past 7 months) I want to burst into tears at the very sight of my kitchen and it’s a wonder that my husband hasn’t choked on my hatred-laced meals. 

Honestly, if I could I would choose to go out for dinner 7 days a week. Unfortunately, we don’t have that kind of money (or any kind of money for that matter). Also, my husband really enjoys a home-cooked meal – and why wouldn’t he? It’s not like HE has to cook it. Why not, you ask? Because that would mean that I have to do the dishes. I don’t do dishes. 

Now that I think about it though, my fondest memories of cooking have involved the consumption of extraordinary amounts of wine and some loud off-key singing while pottering away in the kitchen. For obvious reasons, alcohol consumption – extraordinary or otherwise – is out of the question at the moment. Singing on my part should always be out of the question.

So where does that leave us? With a whole bunch of uninspired stews. (The hubs knows better than to say ANYTHING negative about my cooking because he would most likely get a fork shoved into his eye and then be forced to eat the very food he had dissed everyday for about a month. With his one eye.) Stews are great because I can just leave them to simmer while I do more productive things with my time, like check Facebook.   

To show you that I’m not lying, here’s a photo of Tuesday night’s stew – chicken. I’m kind of hoping that a photo will make up for how excessively random this post was. Everyone likes photos. So, yay.

Yikes. Chicken looks kind of scary in photos. That one piece looks purplish-grey. In any case, egg noodles accompanied these multicolored drumsticks.

9 Comments

  1. mrsmwiti said,

    September 9, 2010 at 12:06 am

    Deciding what’s for dinner can be such a chore! I’ve tried even doing a menu which is followed like one seventh of the week!
    I can identify with your cooking woes too. A couple of times i have imagined just how wonderful it’d be to hire a chef.. *sigh*

    • September 10, 2010 at 11:29 am

      I’ve tried a menu too! But then I got bored of everything on it and stopped. Ugh. I definitely NEED a chef in my life.

  2. Amanda said,

    September 10, 2010 at 1:39 am

    chicken looks yummy.

    what i do when i don’t want to cook: i use one of my three reserve recipes, the easy, throw-it-together-without-thinking recipes, with the most basic ingredients that i always have in the house. i start cooking. turn on tv. promptly forget that i’m cooking till commercials. find yummy easy recipe has turned into a big glob of goo with a crusty outer layer. tell luuk i was ‘experimenting’ and give him the look that says ‘don’t even think about complaining about it’. he eats. i eat. and all is well.

    • September 10, 2010 at 11:30 am

      Haahaa! Poor Luuk! Good thing we’ve trained these boys not to bitch OR ELSE.

  3. Roberta said,

    September 13, 2010 at 1:49 am

    I actually want some of what I see. I used to really love cooking but the joy went out of me sometime ago when I went through a really tough time. Now I just do the dishes. I can hardly wait for order to be restored to my world so I can love cooking again and hate doing the dishes. Okay let me fess up, I’ve never hated doing the dishes. It’s the ONLY chore I don’t mind doing.

    • September 13, 2010 at 3:38 pm

      You dishes people are fascinating to me…I’ve HATED doing dishes since I was a child. There must be some traumatic childhood dish-washing incident buried somewhere in my memories.

  4. GeorgieAllblacks said,

    September 20, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    The rule at our house is if I cook, she does the dishes and if she cooks then I do the dishes. Uuummmm…….. maybe that same rule could be applied in your house??? Sorry if it brings domez though lol….

    • September 20, 2010 at 4:18 pm

      Dude, you have it made. The problem in this household is that *SOMEONE* (I won’t name any names) only cooks Jolloff rice and only on special occasions i.e. Christmas and Thanksgiving. I need to move into your digz.

  5. Kawiria said,

    September 24, 2010 at 7:52 am

    “Stews are great because I can just leave them to simmer while I do more productive things with my time, like check Facebook. ” —- hahaha, but I feel you you on this sentiment.

    Oh yah and i’m one of those dishes peple, i don’t mind the dishes, but the cooking becomes a bore sometimes…okay most of the time.


