Too random? Probably.

I often wonder if my husband secretly suspects that I’m mad. Sometimes, I manage to surprise even myself with how random I can be. Take Tuesday morning for instance. He had just kissed me goodbye and was about to head out to work when just as he reached for the door handle, I told him that I wanted a pet turtle. Now, the thought of owning a pet turtle has been on my mind for some time now but I have no idea why I chose this particular moment to tell him this. A turtle? he asked (and let go of the door handle as he no doubt realized that this was a conversation that I intended to have right there and then, whether he was late for work or not). Ya, a turtle. Not a tortoise? No! A small turtle that I can keep in an aquarium. But turtles grow big and can get as big as tortoises. No they don’t, you can get miniature turtles that you can keep in aquariums and they won’t grow big. (I have no idea about the validity of this last statement, I honestly pulled that bit of info out of my a*s. At this point however, all I wanted to hear was that it was a great idea and that I should go right ahead and get one) Well, I’ve only seen huge turtles, he persisted. Ya, but I saw on TV this one lady who had a small pet turtle that she kept in an aquarium and it was so cute… but the only thing is that turtles live for so long which means that when we move to Kenya we’ll have to leave it here.  We can take it with us. (The sweetness of his response was completely lost on me at that moment. But thinking about it now, the poor man was actually offering to fly this imaginary pet turtle of mine to Africa! All this time by the way, he was standing patiently at the door, waiting for me to release him). No way! Take it with us and pay for its flight? Plus it will be in an aquarium! But maybe we can just wait until we move back home and then we can go to Mombasa and find one in the ocean. (Because there are just thousands of miniature turtles floating along the shores of the Indian Ocean) Okay fine then. That’s something that you can do with your daughter.  -> Having nothing else to say on the matter and feeling adequately pacified with the prospect of making a trip to the Indian Ocean in several years’ time to find my pet turtle, I bid him adieu and he left for work. 

He must think that I’m a complete nut. Or maybe he’s used to me now. I don’t know. I never think about it long enough to ask. But every now and then, I wonder.

22 Comments

  1. Kellie said,

    September 16, 2010 at 9:02 am

    First time here thanks to @misswretched and I like! Reading on now 🙂

    • September 16, 2010 at 10:20 am

      Welcome Kellie! Glad you enjoyed the read, I hope you stick around!

  2. September 16, 2010 at 9:49 am

    i may not count as much as hubby buh i do think you’re random! not that that’s a bad thing .. i think. that said, i noticed u have ‘random’ plans in your head to move home, that’s positive randomity i reckon. welcome home in advance then?

    • September 16, 2010 at 10:23 am

      Definitely positive randomity — The dream to move home is very much alive and well! Keep that welcome ready…

  3. Waboi said,

    September 16, 2010 at 10:33 am

    I too had a random moment early this year and got a puppy. She drives me crazy 🙂 once in a while but the last couple of months she’s been my bestest friend. By my side everyday….I have come to depend on her waging her curled tail affectionately to make me smile on days that are less than sunny. To me randomness was good.

    • September 16, 2010 at 2:56 pm

      Congrats on ur puppy! If I suddenly came home one day with a turtle I think hubby would check me into the psych ward.

  4. petr said,

    September 16, 2010 at 10:39 am

    shiko… you crack me up. i had a turtle once, had to leave it when i moved to the states… i called it ‘speedy’. the one i had stayed small, i’m sure you can find those in a pond somewhere.
    http://www.turtlecare.net/mini.html

    • September 16, 2010 at 3:04 pm

      aha! So there ARE turtles that stay small — but as I just learned from the link you sent “There is no such thing as a miniature turtle.” And 99 out 100 baby turtles die in the first year!?!? My heart couldn’t handle that! You managed to keep Speedy alive though so maybe I’ll hit you up for advice once we find our pet turtle… I’m open to name suggestions.

  5. Amanda said,

    September 16, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    have you always been this random or is this just a side effect of being pregnant? (definately something to keep in mind when considering my options for the near future…)

    • September 16, 2010 at 3:06 pm

      hahahaa! maybe the pregnancy HAS made my condition worse! At least you’ve been warned…and can adequately prepare ur hubs!

  6. wambui said,

    September 16, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    Shiko this post has really made my day, that is as random as random can get. All I can say is that the thought of having to leave my dog here as I plan to move back home is very painful even though I have found a good home for him with a friend of mine. I suggest you just wait until your little girl comes because that random desire to have a pet (turtle) will so quickly disappear.

    • September 17, 2010 at 10:43 am

      It must be so hard to leave behind a pet! Yeah, I figure I’m getting a pet in the form of a baby anyway…so I guess I can wait.

  7. Dogonyaro said,

    September 16, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    This is hilarious. I swear you’re crazy. Please don’t change. Let me know if you find miniature turtles that don’t grow. 😉

    • September 17, 2010 at 10:46 am

      I’ll definitely keep y’all updated on my quest! Sometime in the future I will post photos of me and my little Turtie (ok, the name is still a work in progress).

  8. Roberta said,

    September 17, 2010 at 10:33 am

    OMG! LOL! You, my dear are possitively crazy! And I don’t mean it maliciously at all! I swear I used to say stuff that make the people I’m talking to stop and wonder at what point they lost the thread of conversation. Then I find myself explaining that it’s my own randomness just showing up. It’s so great to find a kindred spirit. Your husband is truly an angel for totally indulging you. May God continue to strengthen him. LOL!

    • September 17, 2010 at 10:53 am

      Lol @ ‘may God continue to strengthen him’! Last night he was saying that he needs his own blog just to cope with living with me.

  9. Martin said,

    September 19, 2010 at 11:12 am

    A Turtle YAWA! too funny

    • September 20, 2010 at 11:18 am

      Marto, they are SO cute! You have to see them, I guarantee that you’ll want one too!

  10. Mona said,

    September 20, 2010 at 6:16 am

    looool, Shiko, you have just totally made my day, got to the office so dead then read up ur blog and cant stop laughing. keep on hun. you definitely have a gift of entertainment. And your hubs, bless him. he seems such an angel. xx

    • September 20, 2010 at 11:19 am

      Yay, I’m so happy that the blog made your day a wee bit better!

  11. Dutta said,

    September 23, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    Talk about randomness, uh huh this was sweet and sincere. lol.. Yaw is such a considerate husband, if he were kenyan he would have “uhh shiko, what is it?” and left for work.
    p.s I say Kenyas coz I know a few who would react this way.

    LOVE IT.

    • September 23, 2010 at 10:46 pm

      I have a keeper for sure. He must be a little bit mad too given that he just dives into any convo I start without skipping a beat.


