Cry Me a River

Have you ever just felt the need to cry it out? Like the only thing that could possibly relieve your frustration/sadness/anger/irritability was a serious, woe-is-me crying session? Well, I have. And I’ve found that in the absence of my usual soothers (wine, caffeine, WINE, etc) crying has become my preferred stress reliever. Besides, nobody is better at feeling sorry for me than I am. I’m incredible at it. All I have to do is think about how severely miserable my situation is for a few seconds and the floodgates burst open. And we’re not talking about a silent, gentle stream of tears here. No way. My situations are SEVERE! And as such, they warrant full on sobbing sessions. 

My situation on Sunday, dear friends, was severely miserable. I had heartburn all day, I couldn’t find a comfy position on the couch no matter what I did, I couldn’t watch any good scary movies because hubs was away on a work trip and watching them would have meant sleeping with all the lights on plus a wooden stake under my pillow and finally, I couldn’t enjoy my donut or my Pad Thai or my Mongolian Beef because of the heartburn. So there I was, denied of every basic need that I needed to survive (I use the term ‘basic’ loosely here). AND THEN as if all this was not enough, when I glanced at the kitchen sink at the end of the day, I realized that since hubs was away, I WOULD HAVE TO DO THE DISHES! That was the last straw. At 9 pm, I stood in the middle of the kitchen and had a long, hearty sobbing session. 

And my, oh my, was it therapeutic! As good as I am at wallowing in self-pity, I’m even better at pulling myself back from the brink of utter despair. I can be simultaneously sobbing AND telling myself that it’s going to be ok (which in my humble opinion, must be some kind of superpower). The crying worked and afterwards I felt great. So great infact, that I decided not to ruin it by doing the dishes.

Crying. Is. Awesome.

17 Comments

  1. farmgal said,

    October 4, 2010 at 8:50 am

    Shiku …you have chekeshad me vibaya…

    • October 4, 2010 at 5:28 pm

      I’m happy that my crying has also made you a bit happier. See? Crying. Is. Awesome

  2. October 4, 2010 at 9:08 am

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Christine Mwiti, The Green Calabash. The Green Calabash said: New Post! Cry Me a River: http://wp.me/p11bHF-3t […]

  3. Clare "AfricanQueen" K said,

    October 4, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    awesome! youare a superwoman to be able to console yourself while still actively crying. 🙂

  4. October 4, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    so err, still not done the dishes i assume? loving the blog..

    • October 4, 2010 at 5:30 pm

      Nope! That dishes story was shelved then and there :-). Hubs came home to a nasty surprise but who can be mad at a pregnant woman with tear stained cheeks?

  5. Amanda said,

    October 5, 2010 at 2:13 am

    ah, i know what you mean! the best therapy is a well-known sad movie. i don’t even have to wait till the sad parts – i know what’s gonna happen and i can just start bawling from the moment the opening song starts playing…

    • October 5, 2010 at 1:18 pm

      haahaa! Pretty much any movie can make me cry if I set my mind to it. Determination is key.

  6. Kawambo said,

    October 5, 2010 at 7:36 am

    you are a special, SPECIAL, child.. 🙂

  7. wambui said,

    October 6, 2010 at 8:36 am

    This blog was so sad yet you still managed to make me laugh. I think you may want to invest is some disposable dishes, frozen meals and lots of chocolate for days like these.But these comforts still should not keep you from crying, Crying is Awesome.

    • October 6, 2010 at 3:34 pm

      You should have seen my excitement as I ran and told hubs about your BRILLIANT disposable dishes idea – for when the baby comes and we’re eating all those frozen dinners and just trying to survive the first few weeks! He was half asleep and mumbled that it would be fine. So, yay!

  8. Roberta said,

    October 8, 2010 at 12:52 am

    Yay! I’ve found people who understand the therapeutic power of a good cry! BTW kudos to you, each of your blogs has an appropriate picture. I actually look forward to them almost as much as the blog itself.

    • October 8, 2010 at 9:55 pm

      Thank goodness for Creative Commons licenses…they allow people like me to use pics for free!

  9. Kellie said,

    October 8, 2010 at 2:32 am

    Man! It hadn’t occurred to me that out there, there is no help and you do your own housework. What happens when the baby comes? Who will help you?

    • October 8, 2010 at 10:03 pm

      I don’t know what other people do, but I plan to curl into the fetal position and cry until something happens. Hopefully something good. And helpful.

  10. mrsmwiti said,

    October 11, 2010 at 9:15 am

    I recently had a good cry. Few things are as therapeutic!


