Stuff I’ll Miss About Pregnancy

This is a blatant effort to cheer myself up. To remind myself that pregnancy is a wonderful thing that should be embraced fully before it’s over. I need this to maintain my sanity. So, here goes: these are the things I’ll miss about being preggo. 

Eating, eating, eating

I have milked this cow for all it’s worth. There is neither a fast food place nor a donut shop that has been spared from my gluttony. Fried chicken with fries for lunch AND dinner? Check. Donuts and hot chocolate at midnight? Been there, done that, bought the t-shirt. Smores and brownies for breakfast? Done and done. It’s. Been. AWESOME. 

Peace of mind

My womb is a safe place. There are no sharp edges to bump on, no high places to fall from, no snakes, no ninja-baby-stealing-warriors, no catholic priests or any other hazards lurking around the corner. While I’m pregnant and she’s in me, I have the peace of mind that she’s well-protected, warm and cozy. Once she’s out however, all bets are off and for the next 18 years, I’ll be a nervous wreck.

Compassion

The public displays of kindness from complete strangers have been shocking. Especially men. Ladies, rest assured that chivalry is not dead! It’s like something deep, deep, DEEP inside men is awakened when a pregnant woman appears. They spring into action; opening doors with amazing speed, springing up from chairs and gladly donating them, offering to lighten loads even when the only thing carried is a purse, the list goes on and on. I’m afraid that I’ve become quite accustomed to this treatment and will feel incredibly neglected when it ends. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I can’t think of anything else to add to this list right now because today is one of those days when I’m so freaking tired and uncomfortable and hormonal and huge that all I want to do is cry. And eat. And maybe read my book. I think I deserve a donut and some hot chocolate. Yes. That’s exactly what I need. My day is looking up already. Yay.

13 Comments

  1. Maxine said,

    October 14, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    haha… sounds like something to look forward to! Milk it all you can while you can… oh who says it’s going to be the last time anyways! 😎

    • October 15, 2010 at 12:03 am

      There are definitely some pros to look forward to…and the way I’m feeling right now, I have to keep focusing on them. Pregnancy might serve as the best contraceptive I’ve used yet.

      • egichomo said,

        October 15, 2010 at 8:55 am

        Lol! Well said..

  2. Amanda said,

    October 14, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    still loving it.

  3. 3TOC said,

    October 14, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    Chich you are funny- And there I was trying to work out the cathloic priets falling under hazardous substances and then finally the light bulb came on. LOL!

  4. Clare "AfricanQueen" K said,

    October 14, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    there’s a solution to keeping the chivalry going..pata mwingine after huyu
    🙂 luv the blogs!

  5. 3CB said,

    October 14, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    Your skin gets softer, your hair gets longer, your hips get wider, and your chest gets bigger. Best part is, you get to keep all these after the baby comes out, so yay!

    Except for the chest. That’ll shrink back to pre-size once the breastfeeding stops …

    • October 15, 2010 at 12:04 am

      I’m still trying to digest the hips get wider and keeping that after the baby comes…

  6. mrsmwiti said,

    October 15, 2010 at 12:24 am

    Oh, you are so right!
    Nothing like ‘eating for two’ and men, I think out of awe, all of a sudden become over courteous treating you like a goddess…

  7. Enelesi said,

    October 15, 2010 at 9:33 am

    Great thinking. Im also working on being positive about this situation.

  8. IzJules said,

    October 15, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Catholic priests…oh no you didn’t! Haha. Lol @ men carrying purse. That must be one heavy purse you’ve got there :). Not much longer to go now!! 🙂 🙂

  9. Roberta said,

    October 18, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    LOL! So this chivalry reserved for the pregnant is real? My friend said the exact same thing when she was pregnant & in the exact same context i.e. things she’d miss about pregnancy. She too was in the U.S. So far no one here in Nigeria has said such. I guess I’ll make it a point of duty to be in the U.S. when I’m pregnant.


