Are We There Yet?

I have been pregnant for the whole of 2010. Just about. March to November is pretty much the whole year. The fact that I’ve experienced all four seasons while preggo should at least count for something.

The beginning of my pregnancy caught the remnants of the frigid winter weather and consequently, Winter 2010 will forever be remembered for horrible morning sickness. First of all, let me take issue with that term – morning sickness. Please be assured that there is no such thing as MORNING sickness. You might get ALL DAY sickness or 24/7 torture or round-the-clock nausea but you will NOT get any such thing as a considerate sickness that kindly restricts itself to the morning hours. I don’t know what lying, sadistic, delusional medical professional came up with that term. It is complete hogwash. So, anyway, during Winter 2010, I would drag myself out of bed and get ready for work (Yes! I had a job at the time!) while desperately trying not to lose my stomach contents.  Since it was too early to reveal my pregnancy to my colleagues, I would spend the entire work day putting on a show of physical wellness even when all I wanted to do was curl up in a corner and cry. That being said, Winter 2010 will mostly be remembered for the shock and excitement of discovering that I was pregnant. Those indescribable moments of realization are etched in my memory forever.

Eventually, Spring 2010 arrived and my second trimester brought with it good health and overall happiness. Well, maybe not overall happiness seeing as this was the time the company tanked and I lost my job. I didn’t even get to tell the bastards I was pregnant! I couldn’t help being happy though because the ‘morning’ sickness was gone! Yay! Yes, I was jobless and pregnant BUT I felt great for the first time in weeks. In a fit of optimism and pregnancy-induced euphoria, I spent the Spring of 2010 looking for a new job. As you know, dear reader, this effort proved to be futile, hence the blog. (Side note: This blog saved my life. OK, maybe that’s a bit too dramatic (even for me) but seriously, it not only helped me cope with the drastic changes taking place in my life but it also gave me a creative outlet and a way to connect with people during the long and lonely daytime hours.) 

Summer! I love hot weather. I always have. 88 degrees and sunny is my type of weather. At least it was, until the Summer of 2010. Being pregnant during the summer is NO JOKE. Imagine having hot flashes, fatigue, swollen joints and an increasingly ballooning body in the dead heat of summer. I felt like a beached whale. I became captive in my own home. Imagine! Me! The same person who could spend endless hours in hot and humid temperatures was now a slave to the AC! I felt inherently non-African. Sweltering heat aside though, Summer 2010 will be memorable for the purchase of my very first maternity outfit as well as the purchase of an adorable pink newborn dress since we had just received the exciting news that we were having a GIRL!       

And now, the leaves are turning red-orange-yellow as Fall 2010 kicks into full gear. I am STILL pregnant. It feels like I’ve been on this journey forever and I’m still not there yet. Yes, the finish line is right in front of me but for some reason, these last 3 weeks are fixing to be the most unbearable of the entire pregnancy! My usually cheerful disposition is slipping away. FAST. If this baby doesn’t come soon I fear for random strangers who stare at my mid-section, and girls carrying shopping bags from clothing stores that I haven’t been inside of in the last 9 months, and friends who drink wine in front of me, but most of all, I fear for my poor husband who has to sleep next to an emotionally unstable and potentially homicidal maniac every night. 

Pregnancy has been a great experience and an absolute blessing. But I’m ready for it to be over. Like, now.

16 Comments

  1. tSN said,

    October 21, 2010 at 11:51 am

    :o) I don’t have words of comfort. Except maybe sleep more and the days will pass faster? Girl’s gotta hope. :o)

    • October 22, 2010 at 11:11 am

      I have been feeling rather sleepy lately. Maybe nature is trying to tell me the same thing.

  2. Chelly said,

    October 21, 2010 at 11:56 am

    OMG!!!! I totally relate to this post!!!

    ” I fear for my poor husband who has to sleep next to an emotionally unstable and potentially homicidal maniac every night. ”

    Thank you for saying this because it is sooooo true!!! No one tells you how close you can get to completely losing it!!! No One!!!

    • October 22, 2010 at 11:14 am

      It’s like a consipracy, right? Nobody tells you about the last stretch of pregnancy being so damn hard. Maybe because the weeks that follow with a newborn are SO much harder. Oh crap. I just scared myself.

  3. Evans Gichomo said,

    October 21, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    WoW. That’s a full year right there. I’ve never heard such detailed feedback from an expected lady. I’m gathering notes for that future date I’m my life 🙂 it’s a very special stage in life, it’s where it all begins anyway. I’m glad to have subscribed.
    Love your blog!

    • October 22, 2010 at 11:17 am

      Thanks Evans! My middle name is TMI. Feel free to look away if things get a bit too detailed 🙂

  4. Clare "AfricanQueen" K said,

    October 21, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    truly un-African to be anti hot weather. Soon u shall regain this power

    • October 22, 2010 at 11:18 am

      I better! I haven’t even started turning on the heat in the house and yet it’s below 70 outside! I’m very ashamed of myself.

  5. Kawambo said,

    October 22, 2010 at 3:05 am

    Shiko, i’ll do you one better. everytime you get upset just remember your pregnancy was nowhere near as horrid as mine was with Tj – remember how i looked on your wedding day… yeah, good now get back to lounging and looking forward to baby’s arrival with a big smile on your face 🙂

    • Annoyed said,

      October 22, 2010 at 9:15 am

      I’m sorry but I hate when people say crap like this ” remember your pregnancy was nowhere near as horrid as mine was with Tj”

      How the hell did you do her one better? How do your stupid comments make her pregnancy discomforts any easier? Just because you went through hell does not mean what she is going through should be belittled….let her vent all she wants – she has earned it!!!

      • October 22, 2010 at 12:01 pm

        You two sound EXACTLY like the voices in my head! One minute I’ll be all like get a grip woman, many people have it much, much worse than you but then two minutes later I get angry and think but that doesn’t mean I can’t feel sorry for myself because then people like Oprah and Steve Jobs and Beyonce (especially Beyonce) would never allow themselves to be sad or to vent and we all have a right to whine about our own problems, no? So then I bitch and moan. Until the cycle repeats itself. I like having both of you in my head, it keeps me from landing too far on either end of the spectrum!

  6. Enelesi said,

    October 22, 2010 at 9:19 am

    I feel ya. Though out here we only got hot , hot and rainy which are kinda considered as one and then cold season. I too feel like I’m trapped in my “body” that doesn’t feel like a body but some kind of encasement. The heat is excruciating right now. I cant breathe and feel really tired at times. I too am wishing for cooler days, days that I hated in the past. My biggest fear is that the heat is too much for baby or that my tummy is getting so big I will be bumping into stuff or someone will come and punch me . Silly stuff like that. This aint a joke . Just think you gotta do this atleast a few more times, unless you are only having one.

    • October 22, 2010 at 12:10 pm

      I have worried about someone coming and punching my belly too! I think something happens to women after they give birth and they forget how severe all the hardships were because if not, world population rates would have been on a steady decline. Either that or babies are too damn cute to resist making more of.

  7. IzJules said,

    October 23, 2010 at 12:20 am

    LOL @ voices in your head! No one told me pregnancy = boderline insanity! Women are such strong beings to go through this 9 months of mixed emotions and up n down hormones! But all in all as you say…it is a blessing to be able to do it! ALMOST THERE HUN! Wohoo!

  8. Kirima said,

    October 23, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    quite a journey there!
    I think women are amazing, able to go through so many up and down emotions and still be able to love the cause of their pains and with hindsight intact will still do it again. I’m pretty sure if it was up to men to give birth the entire human species would either be extinct or we would have invented a machine to do the hard work.
    For the man that lies next to you I can say with some authority that it is quite an agony to see all you go through and not be able to fix things, men always feel powerless when they can’t fix things

    • October 24, 2010 at 9:53 pm

      Yes, our species would be extinct. Or they would have a small team of men called The Birthers who would be tasked with full time surrogacy for the entire planet.


