I bet you thought I didn’t. But I did. So, there.

Remember when I said that my afternoons were utterly boring and that I was going to take up some sort of crafting activity but I didn’t know what I was going to do because I’m not any good at that sort of stuff but I was going to give it a shot anyway because doggonit I needed something to do? Well. After visiting a few crafting websites and seeing how much crafting supplies actually cost (!) I settled on knitting because A. I already own knitting needles and B. It dawned on me that I had no interest in making soap or candles because shower gel and electricity have served me just fine thus far, thank you. With that in mind, I settled on knitting something for the baby. Truth be told, I was heavily motivated by the possibility that another mom may admire my knitted wear and spread the word to all the other moms on the block that they should all be jealous and aspire to be the kind of mom that I am i.e. the kind that knits, because everybody knows that knitting moms are awesome. I can just imagine myself casually pointing to my warmly dressed child saying Oh that? No, *insert fake laugh here* it’s not designer. I just made it one afternoon when I was bored. Bam! Awesomest. Mom. Ever.      

The beautiful thing about knitting is that no matter how much of a novice you are, you can still make something. Take me for example, I’m completely useless when it comes to knitting, having only ever knitted monochromatic scarves, but after watching a few You Tube videos I made two baby hats with matching leg warmers! See proof below.

Granted, all measurements were totally guessed, one of the hats turned out bigger than expected and she might not be able to wear any of the leg warmers until her 4th birthday — but at least that means that her birthday presents for that year are sorted. Thinking ahead = More mom awesomeness.

15 Comments

  1. wambui said,

    October 25, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    Well Done!!! I think they look great.

  2. Kenny said,

    October 25, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    great job

  3. Clare "AfricanQueen" K said,

    October 25, 2010 at 11:43 pm

    good job! awesomest mum on the block!!

  4. Buggz79 said,

    October 26, 2010 at 12:00 am

    Tres cool.

    Now hurry up and make a few more in various colors so that the blessed child can insist on wearing 4 or more colors all at once.

  5. Nakeel said,

    October 26, 2010 at 12:52 am

    They are lovely. I know where to place an order someday…

  6. Amanda said,

    October 26, 2010 at 1:49 am

    ha! i can make blankets. top that! :p

  7. awura amma said,

    October 26, 2010 at 4:22 am

    Yay!!! Good job Shiko!!! you’re definitely an AWESOME mum 🙂

  8. Kawambo said,

    October 26, 2010 at 7:09 am

    LOLEST… well done awesomest mom!! 🙂

  9. mrsmwiti said,

    October 26, 2010 at 8:31 am

    Neat! Congrats mum! 🙂 @Amanda LOL

  10. Ngithi said,

    October 26, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    I didn’t think you thought knitting mums were awesome 😉 I think they are too.

  11. October 26, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    You all are lovely. I may never graduate beyond this point (blankets sound scary!) so there will probably be thousands of hats and leg warmers in my future.

  12. Carol said,

    October 26, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    You are too funny. You really should be a writer, i’d read your book

    • October 27, 2010 at 7:39 pm

      Aww thanks Carol. Don’t think I’ve seen you on here before…welcome! Hope you stick around!

  13. IzJules said,

    October 27, 2010 at 2:15 am

    Awww! How sweet :’) Awsome knitting mom indeed!

  14. jaki said,

    November 5, 2010 at 9:12 am

    I love th yellow hat. reminds me of ripe bananas


