Weight Watcher

On Monday I had my second to last doctor’s appointment before my due date. As usual, the appointment began with the command to pee in a cup whereupon I proceeded to give one of my worst performances to date (I was running late and didn’t have enough time to drink the gallon of water it would take to satisfy those cut-throats). Then came the moment that I have come to dread: my weekly weigh-in. Now, I knew that this wasn’t going to be pretty… my eating habits had taken a turn for the worse ever since I realized that the “I’m eating for two” excuse was about to become null and void. So it was with much trepidation that I stepped onto the scale (FYI: I took off my shoes beforehand and even held my breath just in case I inhaled something weighty, you know, like a dust particle). It wasn’t a digital scale, it was one of those old-school ones where you’re forced to wait in agony while the nurse adjusts it this way and then that, moving to the right every time it becomes apparent that you’re heavier than she had approximated. After 10 hours or so of this torture (ok, maybe it was more like 10 seconds) she settled on my number for the day. Are you ready for this? 160 lbs a.k.a one hundred and sixty pounds a.k.a 73 kg a.k.a seventy three kilograms. All those pounds, mind you, are rested on a very short frame.

AND THEN, to be sure that I was fully aware of my condition, she decided that it would be best to make a formal announcement because you know, even though I was standing right there looking at the scale, she reckoned that it was always best to be crystal clear about these things. “So! You are at 160 lbs”. I gasped… no doubt as a result of both shock and oxygen deprivation (I had been holding my breath, remember?). I think my husband gasped too but I can’t be sure because at this point the room was spinning and my life was flashing before my eyes.

Now, this shouldn’t be worrisome because after all, I am carrying another human being inside of me AND since I plan to breastfeed, I should lose lots of weight, right? WRONG! You people don’t know my body! It is the most uncooperative body that ever existed and it LOVES to hang onto excess. Maybe the breastfeeding thing works for some people but I am 99.9% positive that it will NOT work for me. So unless I give birth to a 30 lb child (hope springs eternal!) I fear that I will never get rid of this pregnancy weight.

Where does that leave me? Well. I’m certainly not going to accept this fate. SO! I’m working on a plan. It’s more of a healthy lifestyle plan than a weight loss plan because I intend to stick with the plan for the rest of my life. I will track my weight loss for a while because I don’t know how else I’d know if any physical changes are happening. When will all this start? About 8 weeks post-delivery which conveniently allows me to enjoy my first weeks of motherhood, thanksgiving and Christmas. 

Look out for the debut of this plan/program/thing next year complete with program details, progress updates (maybe even photos *gasp*), weigh-ins, etc. This might actually be fun and I’m not one to keep all the joy to myself so who wants to get on the program with me?! *crickets*

13 Comments

  1. big bro said,

    October 28, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    I weigh almost double your current weight, so I am ready to get on your program as long as it does not involve exercise…. and allows for a few beers.

    • October 28, 2010 at 3:17 pm

      Yay! My one and only brother is in! Alas, exercise is a must…but alcohol is allowed so all is well, no? And, no, golf doesn’t count.

  2. Val said,

    October 28, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    I’m sure sheer happiness at seeing the baby, the breastfeeding and general running round after baby will help with weight loss. So I guess enjoy the best eating excuse for the time being..hehe.

    *Dead* at dust being a weighty article.

    Looking forward to the healthy eating/ exercise life plan!

    • October 28, 2010 at 11:44 pm

      The excuse will be enjoyed to the fullest! Tomorrow I plan on starting my day off with some Dunkin Donuts 🙂 I hope you’ll hold me to my health goals next year Val because at this rate I’ll need it!

  3. Irene said,

    October 28, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    160 lbs is really not much…been a while since I was pregnant but I think a 25 lb weight gain (by the time you’re full-term) is acceptable. Off course baby won’t weigh that much so you’ll carry some of that extra weight for a while but breastfeeding will definitely melt some of it off. Breastfeeding coupled with the up & down pacing involved in those first few months..before you realize, you’ll be down to your regular size. Adopting a “healthy lifestyle plan” 8 wks post-delivery? Good luck with that:)! Once this baby comes, you’ll be lucky if you can eat, shower & sleep..

    • October 28, 2010 at 11:48 pm

      It doesn’t sound like you have that much confidence in me Irene! Well. I’ll just have to prove myself to you, won’t I? I like a good challenge…let’s revisit this topic next year shall we?

  4. misswretched said,

    October 29, 2010 at 12:44 am

    There is a girl at work who is 6 months pregnant. You should see her bump. It’s like the size of my pot. It’s not normal Shiko. She is a stick. I am saying this because I think your weight gain is AWESOME and HEALTHY! Pics please! LOL. I’m sure you will shed the excess off in no time 🙂

    • October 29, 2010 at 1:08 pm

      Thanks for the vote of confidence Miss W! The real task will be keeping the stamina up after the initial excitement dies. Can I sign you up as a cheerleader for this effort?

  5. Shekyn said,

    October 29, 2010 at 2:03 am

    Ever heard of the excuse that it’s not that I’m fat, rather that I have heavy bones. Maybe you Shiko, are like me. Two days ago, I was on the treadmill working out. I was setting the treadmill to the speed I wanted to work out on, and for some strange reason, it showed my weight. Note. I did not know a treadmill doubles as a weighing scale. No. I’m not pregnant. Do you know how much I weigh? 68 effing kiloz. Yes! I don’t even look fat mind you. It is, by all means the weight of my bones. Consoled? I hope 🙂

    • October 29, 2010 at 1:02 pm

      I sometimes also tell myself that I’m gaining muscle and not fat. Except I don’t look muscular. So then I conclude that it must be internal muscle. The heart is a muscle, right? I think I must have a big heart.

  6. mrsmwiti said,

    October 29, 2010 at 4:58 am

    I went back to my weight pre-kids. 52 Kgs after having a marathon of two kids in 3 years. 🙂
    Nowadays hubby encourages me to put a little weight on.Now am gaining and it’s all settling on the usual suspects, thighs,bum..and if am not wrong, my pot too even though he promises me it hasn’t increased an inch (which i don’t believe.)

    I think i must be 55 or 56 now.

  7. Amanda said,

    October 30, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    your “too-heavy”, pregnant weight is uncomfortably close to my regular non-pregant weight…

    good luck with your healthy lifestyle! you can do it! 🙂


