Premature Exhilaration

You know why I didn’t post anything on Monday? Because I thought I was in labor. Again. And I was wrong. AGAIN. I’m beginning to think that this baby is just toying with me…what kind of sociopath am I bringing into the world?  Teasing an exhausted pregnant woman with the finish line? WHO DOES THAT?

This all started on Saturday afternoon. I began having this cramping sensation in my lower abdomen. Woohoo! This is what I had been told early labor felt like! The time had finally come to have this baby! (This is just sad – I’m so ready to give birth that CRAMPS sent me on the emotional high of the decade) Exhilarated and eager to intensify the contractions which I’d been having for about 3 hours, I decided to go on a walk. Result? 30 minutes later they were gone. Vanished! Poof! According to my trusted source, The Internet, this is one sure indication of ‘true’ versus ‘false’ labor – true labor is intensified by activity and movement while false labor is ceased by the same. False labor has to be the most depressing, irritating and down right mean thing in the world. It SUCKS.  

THEN. On Monday at about 5 AM I was awakened by cramps in my lower abdomen AND lower back. Gasp! Could it be that Saturday was a dry run and that THIS was the real thing? That had to be it. Woohoo! Unable to fall back asleep with the cramping, excitement and what not, I spent the next 3 or so hours planning how I would let hubs go to work for half the day, do some laundry, run to the grocery store AND paint my nails before the contractions got really, really bad. But first, I needed to clean the house. I hopped out of bed and started cleaning. Result? 40 minutes later, no cramps. Gone! Again! As emotionally fragile as I was on account of this premature exhilaration, I decided that rather than blog, I should take a nap instead. Which I did. For two whole hours.    

I’m still pregnant. The doctor says that I’m dilating and that the baby has dropped lower than ever before so apparently the false labor is having some positive effects. But for now, I’m still pregnant. 

I’m starting to think that I’ll be pregnant FOREVER.

29 Comments

  1. Wamaganjo said,

    November 3, 2010 at 1:22 am

    Shiku dearest, have been a silent follower to your believe. From experience, this is nearly it!!! Wish you the best as D-Day nears – from what I read above, the day is nearer than you think….. God bless…

    • November 3, 2010 at 1:14 pm

      I really, really hope so Wamaganjo! Thanks for following and for the blessings, hopefully I’ll have good news soon. *fingers crossed*

  2. Wamaganjo said,

    November 3, 2010 at 1:23 am

    Major typo…..been a silent follower to your blog…

  3. Clare "AfricanQueen" K said,

    November 3, 2010 at 2:26 am

    Hahaha. Aki Shiko you’re too funny. You’re making pregnancy look like a fun experience (but sijafika hapo).Although siku yenye nitafika i sure will remember your exciting blogs. Congrats as you take on these few last days 🙂

    • November 3, 2010 at 1:17 pm

      Thanks Clare! What?! You mean you’re not ready to get pregnant RIGHT NOW?! Just kidding. I’ll be super excited to hear about your experience in the future. “Few last days” — gosh, I hope so!

      • Clare "AfricanQueen" K said,

        November 3, 2010 at 2:11 pm

        Not ready is an understatement..give me a few more years(hopefully) then I’ll think about it. (stress on THINK)

  4. mrongo said,

    November 3, 2010 at 2:32 am

    save these post n show the sociopath what u went thru…….u make it sound cool..

    • November 3, 2010 at 1:19 pm

      Gosh, now I’m feeling guilty. Sociopath? The mommy police will surely be on my case about this one.

  5. Amanda said,

    November 3, 2010 at 2:42 am

    enjoy the labor pains when they do come for real! 🙂

  6. Val said,

    November 3, 2010 at 6:02 am

    You were actually looking forward to labour pains? You are the first I’ve heard off… 🙂

    • November 3, 2010 at 1:25 pm

      Val, at 39 weeks i’m pretty much ready to get this thing over with BY ANY MEANS NECCESSARY! Let’s just say that I’m looking forward to the end of this journey and if labor is what I need to go through to reach the other side, BRING IT ON!

  7. 3CB said,

    November 3, 2010 at 7:27 am

    Heehee. Two things. That whole ‘urge to clean’ thing? It’s called the nesting syndrome, and it means the baby is closer than you think. I got the urge to move heavy furniture for no apparent reason, and 24 hours later, the baby was out. And two = false labour = gradual dilation = baby dropping = the actual labour will be short and far less hellish than the movies, so this is actually a good thing *cheeky grin*

    • November 3, 2010 at 1:26 pm

      Gosh, I love you. I don’t even know what else to say so I’ll just leave it at that. I freaking love you.

  8. Bahati said,

    November 3, 2010 at 11:47 am

    LOL! Shiko that was hilarious. Hello quintessential wifey! All that activity before labor? You’re setting the bar very high! 🙂 Looking forward to hearing your good news very soon here. How exciting!

    • November 3, 2010 at 1:27 pm

      I can’t wait to have good news to share! Who knows? All that activity may be a rumour when the real thing comes…all except the painting of the nails. That is a MUST.

  9. Bo said,

    November 3, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    i have followed you from day one, a bit of the silent one..but as its almost D-Day i just want to say good luck ad congrats!!!

    • November 3, 2010 at 5:02 pm

      Hi Bo! Thanks Bo! WE are almost at the finish line! I’m so happy that you decided to comment, I love hearing from you guys!

  10. Kellie said,

    November 4, 2010 at 12:59 am

    I’m not sure I’ve expressed my admiration of you for choosing to go natural with this childbirth thing yet. Why admiration? Because if I’m at least 4 years away from having a child, and I’ve already decided I’ll go c section for the sole reason of I get to choose my child’s birthday. Who are we kidding? The pushing thing scares the bejesus out of me, so I’ve researched, checked out scars and picked the one I want and all that. In the long run the pain is more because it lasts longer,but I will take my chances with surgery when the time comes.

    That said, as the experienced Moms up there have said, you’re on the last lap girl! Congrats!

  11. Kawi said,

    November 4, 2010 at 8:38 am

    #Confessions before you deliver…lol, you are my favorite blogger…You make being a wife and being pregnant exciting. I was laughing on paragraph two..is that allowed? *runs to hide*
    All God blessings through the “baby popping” experience…If I was where you are I would’ve brought tiny baby clothes and a huge fancy top for yo, but since i’m not, please keep us updated whenever you can.

    xo!Kawi.

  12. Nyoxi said,

    November 4, 2010 at 10:03 am

    Shiko u r tooooooo funny!
    I had false labour for a couple of days and I was busy freaking out that I was going to rip apart like in the series V (waaaaaaay before ur time, hunn!). But one thing I can say, no matter what type of labour u go thru, once that baby’s head has pushed thru, all the pain disappears and the most magical sensations take over. I recall looking over Lexy, as she squirmed on me, at the doc stitching …but not everyone needs stitches 🙂

  13. November 4, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Good luck!! hopefully your beautiful baby is on its way as I write this!! So congrats in advance too 🙂

  14. farmgal said,

    November 5, 2010 at 3:44 am

    The end is near and enter the night shift! Thinking of you and thanks for blogging and for keeping us entertained.

  15. Bee said,

    November 5, 2010 at 7:06 am

    Shiko this is the funniest blog ive read. You are a very strong woman and makes the whole experience seem magical. Any who… Good luck and God bless you and your bundle of joy

  16. Faith said,

    November 7, 2010 at 10:45 am

    Shiko hav never thought of pregnacy as u put it…its new en am lvng it. I hav to catch up on your older…am lovng u already. Hop that kid wil be as intrestng…mwaaah to u two.

  17. Felicia said,

    November 8, 2010 at 5:20 am

    Hi. This the first time on your blog and i am loving it. My Baby is 6 months but i can totally relate to all you are saying. Not to discourage you but I had false labour nine times before she finally came. All the best

  18. nyanjogu said,

    November 8, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    Is the bundle of love here yet??? I am soo excited for you. You already know I am your hugest fan – Thanks for sharing yourself with us. It’s not easy to let the whole world into your life… but I believe that you are doing a service to all the lives you impact through your writing.

    Good luck and God bless you!

  19. karey said,

    November 9, 2010 at 2:52 am

    hi shiko,
    u are my hero! the way u have handled the whole pregnacy experience leaves me in awe….
    saw about ur blog on the friday nation,,nd boy, was i hooked..am loving each blog.. congrats on baby!!


